Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I really think Detroit is the capitol of the world, there is no other like Her….

I came back to live in my home town despite the high unemployment rate so I could live here and help it grow.

I have, found however, that that is not an easy thing to do.

Perhaps if I were not working alone on my projects, then perhaps I would find the going a lot easier. Founding for my L3C company is hard to come by, and my grant writing skills have not been fully tested, and I’m now convinced that traditional funding may be a waste of time.

So I’m trying to sell e-books of poetry on Amazon and Google.

But I digress….

When I last lived here in 1992 many of the things I see now were only just appearing:

Vacate houses were not as plentiful and there were more small businesses in existence than the empty ruins on its main streets.

I am happy to say that Detroit’s industries have more diversity in its mix, there are tech start-ups and a heavier interest in finance.

Still, unemployment is still high in the metro Detroit area, (12.5%, state of Michigan 5.9, not including the underemployed), and most available jobs are still part-time and minimum wage.

I think, while it is good that the overall employment picture in Detroit is improving, it is still doomed….

While its industries have diversified, there is a high dependence on corporations creating those jobs, and as anyone with a bucket of bolts should know that the moment there is a recession or some other economic downturn, layoffs are sure to follow.

Economic downturns in this city are bad news for its communities and leads to higher crime, and population flight.

Because of these reasons, (and other reasons not stated here), I believe the only way for Detroit’s economic stability, and those of her communities is for true economic empowerment of its population, regardless of race, gender or sexual orientation.

A household with its own home-based business, whether through the internet or trade skills will be stronger in weathering economic downturns, and have more freedom from strictures of corporations who invariably follow their respective bottom lines.

There would be less income inequality, and a chance for communities to maintain themselves with a measure of pride and self-determination.

Without these qualities: self-determination, economic empowerment, pride and self worth, a city, ANY CITY will be vulnerable when corporate payrolls are cut.

Only the development of economic empowerment within Detroit’s population will bring back its neighborhoods and communities.

Sincerely,

Eugene Hardy

